FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

new to estranged...

cjmc
Community Member

Hi, Im new to being outed and I've just joined BB to look for help and support from others.

My daughter had her first baby 4 months ago and it's my second visit. She was uncomfortable around me when I arrived which was confusing, then I received the message days later that broke me. A verbal attack and she is going no contact with me. She is 34 and I am 59.

I am grateful that my son is good with me but this rocks a family. I have already almost freed myself from a narcissist mother who damaged this family and now I feel like I'm in the middle of total unrest. I will go back to qld earlier with the feeling that I won't be back to Vic for a long time, hence not seeing my first granddaughter.

Sometimes I wish there was a rule book for life. thanks

5 Replies 5

quirkywords
Community Champion
Community Champion

Cjmc

I want to welcome you this forum and thank you for making your first post.

I have often said a rule book for life would be good especially one for adult children as we get lots of information when our children our young but nothing when they are grown up which can be tricky.

Did your daughter say why she wants no contact or do you have any idea?

Was there an earlier issue you felt had been dealt with or is this something new since she became a mum.

You know how the first year of being a mum can be emotional and demanding , I wonder if this has affected her .

Are you allowed to text or phone her or has she stopped

My heart breaks for you as I am a similar age with a grand daughter and would find it is so difficult.
You are not alone and there is support her for you.

Feel to post here when you want to, I am listening.

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni