FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Nasty to me and its getting worse

Scott72
Community Member
I thought I would write about me to see responses as I feel I would get better value this way.
I have never been sick, thankfully and I have worked hard for decades, since I was 14 actually. I am a returned veteran and I have crafted a beautiful life. I have is all basically, nice house, white picket fence life, two young great kids and married to an intelligent very attractive (internally and ext) lady.
What’s wrong is she is not the person I married 17 years ago. Has been ups and downs over the years, however over the past 6-8 months I have felt differently, almost like I felt she was withdrawing from me.
Last night she said something which is what I suspected, she said she is depressed.
She has had issues at work recently but at home things have really altered.
Nasty and there is a communication breakdown. I hear are negative comments most of the time and it seems impossible to get anything right.

If I dare attempt to defend myself it ends up in me being cornered, verbally abused or storming off and locking herself in the bedroom. If I try to walk away from any dressing downs which I try to do as a time out approach as it is not constructively going anywhere, it can be days before I hear her voice again.
She says she is alone, a failure and has a fog in her mind.
I can stand by her, she is not alone and I understand truthfully some of what she is going through.
The problem for me is the rage and anger – it is horrible, mean, she belittles me and says some really terrible things. I don’t know what I am doing wrong - I haven’t done anything wrong.