FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

My partner refuses help

Vicki_E
Community Member
I have been living with my partner for the best part of a year, and it has been a wonderful time until the last couple of weeks. He is clearly depressed, behaving out of character and self focused. He says he can’t see a light at the end of the tunnel and knows he needs help but refuses to talk to anyone. It is affecting our relationship, and while I’m trying desperately hard to be supportive, I find myself questioning everything he says and does and smothering him with kindness. (I’m an ex nurse and a ‘fixer’ by nature). His ex wife says he has had these episodes before and she was never able to get him to seek help either. I don’t know what to do.
7 Replies 7

smallwolf
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi Vicki,

welcome to beyond blue.

You say that your husband recognises that he needs help but is unable to talk to anyone. That is half the battle there, but the unfortunate thing is not being able to talk to anyone. And forcing someone to do something like getting help can be counter productive.

There are resources on beyond blue web site for partners that maybe helpful. You did not mention much in the way of conversations you have had with your partner ... have you been able to talk with him about how it makes you feel?

Your story is not that uncommon either. If you do a google search for

beyond blue get partner to see psychologist

you will find there are a number of threads (/stories) similar to your story, and perhaps you might get a few ideas there. How would you husband react if you suggested to him that you would arrange an appointment, and go with him?

Tim