FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Low Self Esteem

TTSP
Community Member

Hi.

I'm new to BB and I'm not sure what I am expecting from posting this.

Lately my low self esteem seems to be effecting everything I do. I live in a small town and dread going out, even to do the shopping in case I see someone who knows me. If I'm alone (when the kids are at school) I will do it as quickly as possible - get in and get out. I am a little more comfortable if I take my children with me, but still go in avoiding eye contact and hoping I don't run into anyone I know. I also put off making local appointments, so I don't have to attend them.

This has been going on for some time. I know it has a lot to do with my separation and the smear campaign by my narcissistic ex.

This morning, however, I saw a link with my self esteem issues. This is what happened - I took my children to school and I thought to myself that I should go for a walk, it might make me feel better. Then the thought of people around town seeing me doing exercise filled me with dread and I went straight home.

I can see that this is not a reasonable thought process because there were people I know who saw me walk in and out of the school.

I'm finding it hard to explain and rationalise. I need to seek some help, but I am worried that my narcissistic ex will use it against me in some way.

Anyones thoughts will be appreciated.

4 Replies 4

pipsy
Community Member