FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Lonliness

Lonelymum4
Community Member

This is my first time here so I’m feeling pretty anxious.

I am a single mum of 3 dependent kids and I have been with my current partner for 3 years.

I have a secure job and my kids are good kids but busy with their own lives.

My partner has his kids 50%.

Like everyone, life has thrown me some crap over the years but I know I have a lot to be grateful for.

I have no other family and only a couple of good friends.

Lately I have been feeling so lonely and alone, I feel like I have no purpose other than to wash, cook and clean, I feel invisible in my own life. Some days it is hard just to get out of bed, I mean what’s the purpose in that?

My kids live with me full time. They are of the ages where they don’t want to bother with me (& yet seem more than happy to spend time with their dad, which I’m happy about but it also hurts) and sometimes I feel like I’m in a shared care arrangement with my partner.

I’m not really sure why I am posting this, I guess I just needed to say it out loud in a safe space where I won’t be judged, hoping it might lift a weight off my shoulders a bit, I’m not really sure.

3 Replies 3

sunnyl20
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I am really sorry to hear that you are struggling. Loneliness can be such a difficult and painful experience, and there is often a lot of stigma around it. I think it is really brave and honest that you have been able to acknowledge what you're feeling and to post - while you may feel lonely, you are definitely not alone in your experience. You are right, it can really help to write these things out and get them off your chest to externalise them, even just a little bit.