FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Loneliness after separation - Single Mum

Sas94
Community Member

Hi I am very new to sharing like this.

I'm 4 months separated from an abusive ex.

I live alone pretty much with my 6 month old. (When I say 'pretty much' I mean majority of the time we are home alone, my father lives with us but only really stops In once a week and is off again to work.

So I am alone which I struggle with, I fill my days by going out for coffee or op shopping or parks. But at night is the hardest time for me.

is there anyone in a similar situation up for a chat or maybe have some advice ?

3 Replies 3

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, Welcome

I know the feeling well. All 3 past relationships of mine went past 7 years long before separation. One, my 11 year first marriage (2 kids) ended and at 40yo living in a caravan park, lonely very much so. Then after 8 weeks it all changed.

I saw a block of country land for sale and dreamed of building my own house. Once I secured the purchase my loneliness was irrelevant as I was too busy to think about it. For the next 12 months I built a two storey house, worked shift work and had my kids over to see the progress.

It was clear, I stumbled on the remedy of loneliness- variety and distraction. So passions, hobbies, clubs and interests- search your soul for what suits your personality. And don't forget you can go on dates just for fun and friendship.

My wife of 10 years recently suggested we buy a slot car set and add a train set to it. We've printed off buildings from the www printed them out and glue them together- great fun. Yes it isn't easy but doable.

I have a couple of threads I wrote that you might find interesting. Just Google them and read the first post-

Beyondblue topic variety and distraction