FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Isolated and alone

Vmv
Community Member

I feel like I have nowhere to turn. I’m recently married and it’s has been really tough. During disagreements, he terrorises me, intimidates me, takes my phone, keys and money and sometimes locks me in the house. He controls who I see and talk to. 
When things are good, he’s beyond amazing.
I’m 12 weeks pregnant and we have a mortgage together. 
I feel trapped and confused. I don’t know if I’m the problem. 

7 Replies 7

UrNoTaLoNe91
Community Member

Vmv,

I am so sorry that you feel like you have nowhere to go or anyone to talk to.

I honestly feel like I know where you are coming from, as I feel like I am going through a very similar situation..

I am more than happy to chat with you, if you feel like you can't talk to anyone else 🙂

I am not a professional, just happy to listen/chat/make a friend, if that is what you feel like you need right now 🙂

mmMekitty
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello Vmv

Welcome to the forums. I'm glad you have posted here. First up, you ar NOT the problem . There is nothing wrong with you.

So sometimes he's amazing.

Other times, such as you have said, his behaviour is simply not okay. It's abuse. He's controlling you, as you say, where & when you go anywhere, your money, your phone, your keys, your freedom as well, which is criminal. 

Since this is so early in your marriage, I fear how much worse things can get.

I urge you to contact 1800 RESPECT (1800 737 732) as soon as soon as you can [ safely.

That's important, call when you are alone, & are sure he won't interrupt you when you call

If you feel in immediate danger from him, this is an emergency, so please call the Police - 000.

IHugzies

mmMekitty

Hello UrNoTaLoNe91

In a similar situation as Vmv?