FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I feel betrayed by my own family

MayItShine
Community Member

Hello. This is my first time on here, and I'm a little nervous sharing online but I'd like to reach out for support.

I'm about to turn 18. I have had pretty severe anxiety since age 14, and for the last year have had depression. I've been through a heck of a lot of issues with my mental health and paternal parent, but my older sister, older brother and mum have ALWAYS been there for me. They are my biggest support network. Recently I have had my mental health take a deep dive for the worse, and on the weekend my family told me that they were going to withdraw. So mum had been off work with me at home, to basically take care of me. But she said she was going to work. I understand that she has to work, and I'm not trying to sound selfish at all. But since then, she has stopped her support altogether. When she gets home and I try and tell her that I had a bad day and need a hug, she tells me about all the other things that she could be doing with her time. I have had many long talks with her about the way she makes me feel, and every time she says that she is listening to me, but makes an excuse. My sister and brother are the same.

I feel really betrayed by them, and as a result my health is literally rock bottom. I have no friends, and without there support I feel so lost.

I should probably mention that I have a private psychologist who is trying to help, but he's currently on holidays.

I guess I'm just really looking for some people to talk to who might understand how hard it is to talk about mental health.

2 Replies 2

quirkywords
Community Champion
Community Champion

Welcome MayItShine to the forum.

It can be quite scary writing your first post so well done for expressing your thoughts so well.