FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Husband might have depression

Agreen
Community Member

My husband and I are not in a good position relationship wise, we do not talk, there is no connection, our conversations are completely transactional in nature, there is no discussion of a shared future. However, putting that to the side, I read the signs and symptoms of depression page on the BB website, and I think that he is suffering from many of the symptoms.

I am thinking that maybe he has depression, but I am not a trained professional in this area and I am wondering what I can do to talk to him about it, how should I convince him to go to the doctor and talk to someone?

Even if we don't talk and our relationship is falling apart i still love him and he has never been good about going to the doctor, to the point that he had a serious physical injury for 3 days before he went to doctor (who sent him to hospital immediately) because he thought he could just push through it.

Im worried that if I just outright talk to him and suggest he see someone it will just cause the rift between us to increase even more.

4 Replies 4

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Agreen, unfortunately, if the two of you aren't really talking or able to hold a conversation then the chances are if you suggest he needs to see his doctor, then he may refuse to, even though he may be suffering from some type of depression.

Does he see a friend who may come to your house who may suggest he does, or even say he'll go with him, somehow this may need to be approached from another angle.