FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

How do you explain this to teenagers?

brokenbluecat
Community Member
I have been battling for over 20 years. Recently I have had a number of triggers that have lead to me going through the worst episode of my life. I have no motivation, no enjoyment and I am struggling to explain to my teenage boys why I feel "sick". There is nothing physically wrong with me, my mental health is really bad. How do I explain this to them without them worrying about me? My husband has also said this weekend he doesn't get it. How do I make him understand? These are supposed to be my biggest supporters but I can't even talk to them. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
3 Replies 3

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Brokenbluecat, and a warm welcome to the site.

It's really sad when someone like you has suffered for so long, that's far too long and I feel so sorry for you.

There are so many others who also fit into this category and sometimes this may cause your children to worry or even to wonder if your behaviour is their fault, it isn't, depression is a powerful illness that anybody can get and at the moment that's what you are struggling from.

Just explain to them that sometimes you may be able to get out of bed, or maybe in bed when they get home, it's not because you don't love them, but this illness puts you into a dark hole where you can't see anything positive and even though there maybe times when you may laugh, this doesn't mean your mood has overcome depression.

There were many times when I could laugh when friends came around but as soon as they left I crawled back into my hole.