FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

High School Reunion

Hippie_Girl
Community Member

Hi wonderful souls,

I am reaching out to you all in need of some perspective and guildance.

I graduated high school 10 years ago and my reunion is on the 14th Oct. For the past couple of months leading up to this I have felt like a total failure. I have a nice life and have achieved some great things but I wished I had done more.

I was very happy and enjoying my life up until a few months ago when I started realising now fast the last 10 years have gone and how much more I still wanted to achieve.

Although I have decided not to go to my reunion because of these unhappy feelings I am still finding myself feeling worse the closer the date gets. It's like a deadline in my mind.

Any assistance or understanding would be appreciated. I feel so silly for being so upset over literally just another day on the calander but I also know this is something that I need to feel and properly work though.

Much love, Hippie Girl ✌

7 Replies 7

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Hippie Girl~

I'd like to welcome you here to the forum. From your post I'm guessing you are a bit under 30 years old (please excuse me if I'm wrong)

High school reunions are famous for being troublesome. Part of course is they are a reminder of time passing, part the worry of being compared unfavorably with former classmates, either by others or by oneself. Then again sometimes here is the possibility of coming up against those one really does not want to ever see again for any one of a number of reasons.