FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Help with daughters lack of empathy

Always_worried
Community Member

Hi All

This is my first time posting on here but I just am stuck and really don’t know where else to go for help.
My daughter has for the past 2 1/2 years had an eating disorder and all of my and her partner of 4 years energy has been put into watching and guiding her (with the help of professionals) to help her get on top of what is a horrible disease.
She during the last part of last year was then also put on some antidepressants to help with anxiety (of which I also suffer from)

My issue now is that in the last few months she has been pulling away from both of us and berating us for asking about her and generally caring for her well being.
Last week she abruptly ended her 4 year relationship stating that she just doesn’t care or love her partner anymore.
Our mother/daughter relationship is also suffering as I try and guide her through an uncertain time and she pushes away preferring to go out with her girlfriends (who didn’t have anything to do with her whilst she was at her lowest) and them telling me to back off and leave her to live while they celebrate “having their friend back”

My question is do I sit back and watch this and assume that it is part of her recovery or is she just self sabotaging in another way? I am beyond worried to the point where my own mental health is suffering and I continually argue with her which ends with both of us getting upset.
Any advice would be greatly received

always worried

3 Replies 3

mmMekitty
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello Always Worried,

Welcome to the forum,