FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Help my family is falling apart

Badluckgirl1
Community Member

Hi

Im new to this but i am in need of help. I seem to have been through so much. Its just one thing after another and i just don't know what to do anymore. The latest thing that has hit me is my son has gone off the rails he is in his 20s with the wrong crowd and living a thugs life. I want to help him but he has shut me out and doesn't want help. Please where do i go? What do i do?

12 Replies 12

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi badluckgirl, welcome

As hard as this sounds, with your son, he is an adult. He is responsible for his own behaviour and future.

sonetimes we as individuals and parents need to self preserve, keep looking after ourselves even if as in this case, he is facing jail. Because his direction isn't going to change the more you worry.

Be there for him. But point out to him his destiny is in his own hands.

Take care of yourself. Something's are beyond our control.

Tony WK

Thanks tony

Unfortunately i already know that he is an adult and i cant change his decisions whatever they may be.

I am looking after myself.

and thats the thing how can i be there for him if he doesn't even acknowledge me. My husband was killed at work. None of my family get in touch to see how i am (well not since they found out about my son) i feel as though im totally on my own. Most of all i was seeking advice on how i can deal with this.

Fairywings
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member