FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Giving an ultimatum to my ex

SweetAngel
Community Member

This guy and I have been on and off in a relationship for one year. The reason is because he is friends with a girl who I feel is a threat (one time when he and I were broken up, they jokingly flirted and ppl thought they were dating)

The other night I expressed that I feel hurt whenever he sees her , but despite me expressing my feelings, he says ,”she is my friend. I will continue to see her.”

and so. I gave him an ultimatum. If you see her I’ll leave for good. If you don’t see her, I’ll stay”

that was a week a go. He hasn’t told me his decision. During the week we have been talking like every thing is great, but nothing about what I brought up.

what do you think I should do? This is my first time bringing up an ultimatum . I understand it’s not right to tell someone to no longer be friends wth another, but I’ve been feeling hurt for a year now now , have continually brought up my feelings to him about the matter, but despite it all, he still hangs with her because as he says “we are friends”

16 Replies 16

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi

I assume the "flirting" event was witnessed by others not yourself as they thought they were "dating". Third parties assessment of what could be just friendship can be damaging if inaccurate.

But there is another concern, even if it was flirting, you both had broken up, therefore he was free from relationship obligations.

Every good relationship needs strong trust and if it isnt there, ultimatums are not productive imo. He could see them as emotional blackmail or in the least- control. If the other girl doesnt have those tendencies what do you think he will find more attractive to him?