FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Girlfriend threatening suicide

Babic123
Community Member

Hi all, this is my first time posting here because I really don’t have anyone else I can get help or advice from at the moment.

Over the last few weeks me and my girlfriend of 5 years (we broke up for a year then got back together) have been having some bad fights. 2 nights ago she was saying some pretty hurtful things to me so I told her I would be sitting in the lounge room and would wait until we were both calm to talk (we live in a 1 bedroom house).

She then messaged me on Facebook and said that I shouldn’t be with her if I don’t care enough to comfort her when she cries. I told her that I love her and that I would really like to talk about everything but not if she’s going to talk down to me. She said she’s just sick of this and I said I’m sick of these petty fights too.

She replied “you know where the door is” and so I told her I would go stay at my mums for the night and went to my car. As I’m driving away she calls me and says that she “doesn’t want to be here anymore” and she “can’t deal with it”

she was implying that she was going to commit suicide, which is so heartbreaking to hear because after we first broke up when we were 18 she tried to end her life and the following week wouldn’t leave the front of my mums house, we had to call her mother and she took her to the hospital for mental health issues. This messed us both up for so long and I thought she had never do or say anything like that again.