FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Feeling Alone

Miss_DoingItAlone
Community Member

Hi all,

This is my first time on the forums but really needed somewhere to let it out if that makes sense?

I have 2 children and am currently pregnant and my 8yr relationship ended last Friday very messily with there being domestic violence. I spent all day yesterday in court and thought today would be easier but in fact it's been worse! I am having flashbacks of what happened and then remembering all the good times, I went to have a coffee with my mother today and I started to panic and cry and needed to leave the cafe. I went to my gp to ask for a referral to see a counsellor but she refused and said I'd get over it but it feels like it's so intense and it's such an effort to do anything I'm sad all the time. I am so ashamed to admit but I am struggling with feelings of excitement for this pregnancy 😞

Thank you for reading/listening.

3 Replies 3

kanga_brumby
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Miss DoingItAlone Welcome to forums a safe place to vent. After going through what you have. I feel you would need someone to talk through it. Domestic violence is not acceptable on this planet. You have made the first step it will take time to heal what is happening in your head. So give it time talk to your GP again stress if you have to that your not coping with the memory of the violence, etc. The good times cannot be brought back. I have lost my partner to cancer. Today all I have are the memories, bitter sweet. They cannot return. So I now look to help my two children. When I can I get advice in here. Some times I help others. Soon you will have a little one to protect. Without violence in it's sweet little life. So take care.

Kanga

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi MDIA welcome