FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Feeling alone with no support

Shell82
Community Member

Ok so this is my first time trying to reach out for help/advice from strangers.

So we just had our second baby a few weeks ago and my whole world is wrapped up in both children ( 4 years old and 2 weeks old). I would do anything for them. I don't have the typical depression signs that people always talk about after a baby.

The thing that is getting to me most is when I reach out to anyone for help (family or friends) I am getting absolutely no support or understanding. This is especially bad from my husband and my dad who also lives with us. I could ask for something as simple as a nappy change or taking out the rubbish and I get "why are you so lazy" or "you can do it" or "why isn't it already done" after being up all night with two sick children, being sick myself and having an emergency cesarean). Then when it comes to cleaning the house I get yelled at again by both as to why its not done (again receiving no help). Its come to a point where I'm doing all of things I shouldn't be doing after an emergency csection and I again end up in tears (I'll hide away doing housework while crying so I dont get yelled at, critized or shamed) because I'm in so much pain.

Am I wrong to ask for help?? Am I asking to mich?? Is it wrong to need support and someone to talk to?

3 Replies 3

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
hello Shell, it's rather disturbing to know what your dad and husband have said to you, goodness me you've just had a baby and really should be looking after yourself, it's not easy being a new mum or dad because your lifestyle changes significantly.
People may not want to help because once trhey do then they feel as though they will always be used, that's unfair I know.