FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Father of my child going to jail for 2 years

Lyall27
Community Member

My ex, whom I coparent an 8 y o with, has been charged and sentenced to 2 yrs jail time. They appealed and he is out of bail but faces court again in a month.

He only discussed this with me today and I’m still processing it all. What happens to our coparent arrangements. I do not get along with his family at all and have massive anxiety thinking about having to communicate with them.

I will wait and see what happens in a month with the sentencing, but need advice on if I should talk to my 8 y o about this and how and if anyone has been through anything like this.

4 Replies 4

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, welcome

I worked as a prison officer 40 years ago. So I saw many young children visit their fathers in jail.

Children are resilient, they go with the flow. The truth cant hurt them as long as their parents arent demonised by anyone.

Although you dont get aling with your ex inlaws I think it might be a good time to take the mature road and reach out a little for the sake of your child and your ex.

I would talk to your ex and his family maybe a meeting, to inform them that although you dont see eye to eye with them if he is incarcerated it would be a better situation if your child visits him, and you offer your exs inlaws the opportunity to take your child into the jail...eg have your child for the day.

If this happens it could be a good opportunity to get some mutual respect going on. They are your childs grandparents and if they care for their grandchild ok, its a win win all round.

And a day every fortnight or so when you can have a break and go shopping.

Sometimes the most difficult thing to do is the right thing to do.

TonyWK

Guest_7403
Community Member