FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Devastated

JayB72
Community Member

After seven years with my beautiful wife she has recently told me she wants to separate. To say I’m devastated is an understatement and I feel completely blindsided.

When I said I was blindsided she appeared shocked that I didn’t see it coming. We had great intimacy two holidays planned and paid for and seem to be moving on nicely.

I’ve asked if she wants to go see someone as a couple and she’s adamant it’s over.

It’s only been a month and I’m so confused and can hardly function. I feel like such a weak man and I see my wife slowly starting to hate me and that just isn’t warranted.

Can’t sleep, can’t eat and do nothing but cry (I’m not very good at crying)

I have given up my whole life to be with my wife, I’ve lost my relationship with my kids (first marriage) my well paying career and any financial security that I once had.

I’m soon to be a 51yo with not enough money to buy a house and don’t have the income to rent, for the first time in my life I’m terrified.

My wife and I own a small business together and going to work and seeing her function as normal just makes things worse. 

I just don’t know what to do. 

J 😞

18 Replies 18

Squishy13
Community Member

Hi J

That sounds brutal. I'm sorry about what you're going through.

Personally I think the thing you need most is an explanation. Is there any way she would be willing to communicate her reasons to you? If she is adamant the relationship is over there isn't anything you can do about that, but in order for you to resume your life and put things into action, you need to be able to understand why it has ended, or at least be told why she thinks it is over. I would ask her to just please provide that so you can begin moving on.