FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Dealing with a husband with depression

Katie11
Community Member

Hi this is my first time posting.

I am married to a amazing man who suffers from PTSD and depression.
This has been our journey for the last 5 years and I am reaching the point where I am starting to realise I don’t want to have to deal with this anymore.
we have beautiful children that both them and I have been impacted previously by his depression (his anger, meltdowns and disengagement) and everyone now walks on eggshells now and again wondering what the day will be like. When he is low He becomes selfish and treats me like I am nothing (the way he talks and ignores me). I have been nothing but supportive juggling our life and work. We fight over me trying to engage with him and getting him to communicate. I get so lonely having to constantly deal with this.
I just want the man I married back. It breaks my heart when the kids get worried about what mood he might be in and they are truly amazing kids.
His behaviours have broken my heart to the way he treats me and the kids when he is low. We don’t deserve this.
When he is not feeling low he is a great father.

I just don’t know how to deal with him and his depression anymore.

I look at him and think he isn’t even trying anymore. He wants to sit in his depression. He doesn’t want to cuddle or anything. His medicated and has mental health supports.
I get angry and frustrated because I am so positive about life and it’s worth living and having fun. He’s just a negative Nancy and is pulling his family down. Would love some advice as getting to the point where i can’t deal with him anymore.

7 Replies 7

Sophie_M