FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Dazed and confused

jammy
Community Member

This is my first post and I will jump right in. We have a just over a year that included my mother in law dying, then within 6 months two other relatives died. I had to organise and put both of my parents in a nursing home while dealing with family in denial about their condition. Two old friends died as well. I work part time as a carer and am my husbands carer as he has a number of serious physical problems, as well as PTSD. This past year has obviously been hell for him with three family deaths, among others, and now me cracking up.I saw a psycologist to help deal with the stress and depression, and she confirmed that my parents were indeed abusive throughout my childhood, and up to now really at the ripe old age of 57.I feel great relief on having this confirmed as my sister has always denied it happens ( Iwas a constant disappointment, she - the golden haired girl) but also angry, sad, generally brassed -off! How do I deal with all of these issues and stay sane.

1 Reply 1

Neil_1
Community Member

Dear Jammy

Firstly I'd like to extend a warm welcome to you to Beyond Blue and to thank you for coming here and providing your post.

2014 certainly wasn't a good year for you (as well as for your husband) - I think there was just something bad about that year - but that's another story.

With all that you've got on your plate at the moment, I'm not surprised that having the confirmation of childhood abuse was the last straw for you.  And I cannot imagine how it would feel to have suffered from that, nor with the hangover of having to live with that as well - and now the confirmation.