FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Confused

Harmony_81
Community Member

Hi all, it's my first time posting here, just hoping for some support as I'm really confused at the moment.

My husband of 19 years is a "Gamer" he calls himself this. Playing online games around his work hours. Recently while replying to our child on his phone a message popped up that was from a lady. I followed into the chat, her message was the only one in the inbox. Anyway long story short they'd been messaging each other for a number of months. My husband suffers from depression and said to me he was talking with her online as they both suffer from depression and could find common ground. Honestly I'd be totally fine with this situation except for the fact he had deleted all messages along the way. I'm feeling really confused and feel I'm at a fork in the road, He has lied to me in the past, to "Not upset me" I feel I need to reach out for some support. His gaming addiction has been a constant in our lives for the past 15 years and I guess I internally hold hope that one day he will stop.

6 Replies 6

Alaskanight
Community Member

I know this is nothing like your situation as you have a lot more time and a child involved, but I was engaged to a man, we were together for 7 years. He was also addicted to gaming. He had a gaming room where he would constantly be on the computer at all times when not at work, playing this one game, with a headset on talking to people. He never had time for me and always told me it was just fun because his job was stressful.