FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Can depression cause loss of love

Lost7616
Community Member

Hi I'm new to this and I'm looking for some answers

my husband after a disagreement 3 weeks ago told me his unsure if he loves me any more and that he doesn't feel the same

fast forward a few weeks he has been diagnosed with mild PTSD , depression and anxiety .

its like one morning he woke up and was someone else, we have been married 8yrs and have had our ups and downs 4years ago when starting a Fifo job he had an affair which broke my heart . We worked through it and I believed we came out stronger and closer (I know that there is no excuse for that but looking back I feel maybe it was a cry for help)

he has over the years had moments of anger and rage (especially when drinking) tears feeling hopeless , blaming himself for deaths (he is a fireman) but they would be bought up then not mentioned again

he hurt himself oct 15 and was off work until March 16 I know this took its toll on him, he has also had the worry of his 2 younger brothers who have been caught up in a situation with possibility of going to jail !

On his 40th bday in May he broke down in tears told me he doesn't know how he would cope if the worst happens about his brothers! He feels he hasn't been able to talk to his parents (who he would normally go to ) because of the stress they have for his brothers

he tells me he resents me for things I have said like " I didn't marry me father" and blames us for our financial position

I guess I'm just lost I don't know what happened to my affectionate happy loving husband! Is it because of me his depressed