FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Broken

Broken4
Community Member

It’s been 12 months since I discovered my husband of 3 years and partner of 19 years had been having an affair with whom I thought was my best friend for 12 months.

i do not know how to handle my feelings , I chose to stay as my husband was very apologetic and has tried everything to save our marriage.

he has cut all contact with her.

we have two children that are not aware of the situation as they are to young to be exposed to this situation.

i am tired of people telling me how strong I am as I do not feel strong.

i am sorry if my thread doesn’t make sense as this is my first time ever writing this down, but I would like to speak to people that have experienced this terrible thing.

some days I am good but other days the thought of what they did to me hurts so bad that I cannot bring myself out of it

3 Replies 3

JessF
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Hello Broken♥️

Welcome here. I really feel like you're just looking at all the pieces on the floor at the moment, and wondering how you might ever put them back together, even though you're trying.

I was struck by the idea of time when I read your post, and how these memories seem to be swirling around for you. A year since you learned about the affair, which itself went on for a year. The sense of betrayal from a man you've spent nearly two decades with, and also from a best friend too. The sense of the good days, but then the bad days when you're thrown back in time and stuck in what happened.