FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Break up after over 5 years

EmmyK
Community Member

Hello.

im very new to this, but I need help because I don’t know what to do.

My boyfriend and I of 5 years broke up yesterday morning. I knew things had been strained with us for the past few months, on occasion, but I didn’t realise it was this bad. We had plans to leave for Europe for a holiday tomorrow.

He broke up with me. And I guess part of me, deep deep down knew it would happen one day, but definitely not now. When I say things were strained, they still were reasonably normal. He still would tell me he loved me and would always try and make me happy, but I guess it wasn’t all sincere.

I just really need help. He’s been my rock for so long, was even a pull bearer for my mums funeral. I don’t know if I can live without him, because I love him so much. Even before him, I had always had someone in my life and had never been single for more than a couple of months since Highschool.

Has anyone else been through something like this? I need advice on how to cope. Also we are meeting up today to discuss everything. I’m terrified.

3 Replies 3

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
hello Emmy, firstly I'm very sorry this has happened the day before leaving to go o/s, but it concerns me when you say it 'would happen one day'.
This doesn't necessarily have to be that way, but there have been problems between you two over a few weeks/months, and the reason being it could be something that you both disagree on but a settlement hasn't been reached.
If it was his decision to break up then his kind gestures made towards you don't mean that he could possibly love you, I'm sorry to say and I know that must hurt you.