FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Both children getting divorced, I’m not coping well

Zoe30
Community Member

Hi, I’m new to this but just feel the need for some advice as to how to get thought this horrible period in my life. Three awful things within 12 months... my first child announced divorce as her partner had come out as gay and did not want to remain in the marriage, my daughter was devastated , they have a 3yr and 5 year old. A few months later my elderly father’s dementia worsened and he has had to go into a nursing home, he is no longer lucid at all., I feel I have lost my relationship with him
my second daughter has now announced her intention to divorce her husband as their marriage is not happy, they have a two year old.
I feel as if my life is unraveling and am struggling to handle the grief and loss and the huge changes I am trying to be as supportive and strong as I can be for my daughters but I just feel weighed down by sadness. They are both professional successful women, and I wanted them to have happy family lives . It’s heartbreaking

Any advice as to how to get through this would be appreciated

I have been seeing a psychologist and am trying to meditate and practice mindfulness but some days nothing works. Thank you

1 Reply 1

Aaronsis
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

HI Zoe30

It is so great that you have found yourself here in this supportive and caring community and that you have come to get some support.