FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Being an essential worker during a pandemic

Chester09
Community Member
I am grateful to still have a job, don't get me wrong but I just dont know how to be there for my kids while both my husband and I continue to work. How can I justify putting anything ahead of my children at a time like this? They need us now more than ever before but now, more than ever before, it is crucial to hang on to the employment we have. Can anyone relate? Can anyone tell me how they are doing it? I just don't know how I am going to cope. While my role is essential, I am new to it and therefore new to the workplace and not afforded any goodwill towards flexibility to care for my family.
3 Replies 3

Quercus
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Chester09,

Thank you for your post, it is a topic that is worrying our family too. Hubby has no choice but to go to work either and it is causing a lot of panic for us also.

Before all the chaos started he checked what the work instructions were for emergencies like this. His workplace is legally allowed to force employees to stay at work in certain circumstances.

That made me furious, upset, confused and guilty. I understand the whole 'greater good' issue and that certain roles are needed to maintain stability. But it is hard to accept it when it is your children that are affected.

It's just us and our kids (5 and 6). We don't have anyone who can come stay with our kids if I'm sick. His Mum works in aged care so she's stuck too.

I've got a cold already and feel like crap. I thought he was meant to stay home if family were unwell but his work doesn't care which makes me even more angry. What about the other staff!?