FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety/Depression and impacts to people around you

whose_da_man88
Community Member

Hi,

I'm in my 2nd year battle with anxiety and depression. Of late I can see this is affecting my partner a lot.

I'm struggling through my own battles with the physical symptoms. I feel like s*** and I have withdrawn from a lot of things and I can't commit as I'm worried if I don't hold up. My latest battle is with panic attacks. Clearly i'm not sexually active, I'm less thoughtful and more self-centred and a lot less intimate because of my condition.

I'm not sure what my partner is upset about but its clear that it is.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm trying to juggle between myself and the people around me - especially my immediate family. I hear that it can be hard of them too so trying not to blame them for not understanding but I'm now worried my partner will change for the worse, whether to deal with expectations or whether my condition takes them into their own spiral of anxiety/depression. I don't want to lose myself and i dont want to those dearest to me either.

Thanks.

5 Replies 5

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Whose_da_man88~

I've read some of your other posts and can see the tough time you are having, The physical reactions are very intrusive and long-lasting. Trying to pin each down and keep looking for effective treatments are all factors that turn you life upside down.

No, somebody that as not gone though what you have will not have a good idea of what is inside your head -or how your body feels. This is unknown -and very frightening territory. The person they knew, could have a normal every-day life with, from going to the mall with the kids to being inmate and reassuring is no longer there. For them too it seems open-ended.