FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

A broken builder who lives in the NSW lockdown.

Crash_bandicoot
Community Member
First time on Beyond Blue. I don't know if you anyone agrees but I have been at home ever since Construction was ordered to stop work due to 100 cases. Now Gladys has pretty much forced us to get jabbed and I don't feel like being an experimental guinea pig. I can solemnly swear I have never taken cocaine, ecstasy tablet or any illicit drug. Ive lost many friends due to this growing up.... should I continue staying home with my family who are very supportive. I don't talk to them about my feelings and always put a brave and happy face on when ever they ask if I'm OK. Im a hands on builder and for the first time I have subcontracted my work out. It's killing me inside and I feel so useless and overwhelmed with grief for something that I enjoy doing. I have just started trading on my own and won a decent project in my area only to be handing it over to people who aren't in lock down and a free to roam around. Broken useless father of 3 amazing kids. My wife is also amazing and I don't want to tell her I'm secretly crying inside. Being a man I'm ment to benthe provider and that's all I've done.
4 Replies 4

tranzcrybe
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Covid is such an imposing subject and I need to avoid any controversy in my response. So, a story...

I used to ride my bike without a helmet - many years ago, it wasn't compulsory and I, among many others, learnt to live on my wits and a certain degree of good fortune to avoid any serious incidents.
Hooray for me!

With the mandating of helmets, I questioned the efficacy and justified my stand on impairment of vision, hearing, and perception - basically everything I could dig up to substantiate my claim.