FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

2nd major relationship failure

Michacat
Community Member
Hi this is my first time on an online forum. I am 45 and 7 weeks ago my partner of 14 years said he didn’t love me anymore and was leaving. There is no other person involved. He has been living in another room for last 6 weeks while he find a rental now he has finally moved all his stuff I’m broken again. I’ve suffered with depression since my twenties had 3 overdoses and two mental health unit visits in my twenties. I have been seeing a psychologist and my gp and I’m an antidepressant. My partner says we are wired differently. He has lost the emotional connection to me because over the years I’ve done and said some things that hurt him. He said he should have left years ago but was too scared about being in his own. I just can’t stop crying have lost 4 kg in weight and see no hope for the future without him. I have negative thoughts of guilt and regret. I seem to be to blame for it that I’m not affectionate enough or supported him emotionally enough. Really struggling to want to live.
14 Replies 14

Doolhof
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Michacat,

Welcome to the forum. This is a safe place for you to express yourself.

I'm sorry for what you are going through. It sounds like it is a very hard time for you. When you are struggling so much, it can be difficult to find reasons for moving on and hope seems a distant memory at times.

When I hit rock bottom, I know I need to find ways to pick myself up again. It is not easy I know. There are times when I have deeply regrated past actions. The thing is we can't change what has happened.

The best I can hope for is to find ways to move on no matter how hard it seems at the time.

Is there one thing you can do each day to feel a little better about yourself?