FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Uncontrollable anger and irritability

Zoe-PTSD_OCD_MDD_GAD
Community Member

Hello,

My name is Zoe and I am a long term survivor of cPTSD, anxiety, depression and OCD. Lately I have been struggling a great deal with my anger, particularly anger attacks and outbursts of rage.

I have a couple of tools I have been given from therapy but I feel like I need more tools. I am especially raging out when my carer doesn't do what I nneed them to. He is around me almost 24/7 and I feel suffocated. any tips?

6 Replies 6

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Zoe~

Welcome here to the Forum. I'm sure there are many here that really wish they were calm and did not give way to anger.

I'm no expert but will try to say a few of the things I do. I'm a lot better than I was (I've PTSD, anxiety and occasional bouts of depression). I try to have a plan when things are about to descent to lashing out.

I guess the first thing is I am getting better at knowing when I'm liable to react with anger, and do try to take steps to forestall it. I've often walked outside. On other occasions I've actually felt adult and proud of myself for not giving way.

In my case - maybe yours (I'm guessing) - a lot comes down to lack of control, events piling up, further demands and then a last straw, or something else going wrong. Often just those circumstances help me realize I'm vulnerable to temper and lashing out.

I would think you realize that outbursts don't really help, and can be pretty hurtful. If you didn't oyu would not be posting here or talking wiht your therapist . That's one of my motivations form not giving in, my partner - who is the handy target - would get pretty hurt and upset. So space and pause if all else fails.