FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

PTSD - SEXUAL ABUSE OF MY DAUGHTER

mama-bear
Community Member
Hi this is my first time here, need a bit of help - my daughter was sexually assaulted over an 18 month period by somebody who was a mentor to her - someone who had been in my house as an equal..It started when my daughter was 15 and ended at 17, the offender has been prosecuted (piss ant term given) and im only now starting to deal with it a year on..Im devastated, im triggered, im angry - i saw a psych who was not qualified to deal with my anger and frustration - thank god i found a psych for my daughter who is amazing but for conflict of interest reasons im not seeing her - ive now booked in to see her colleague, but everyday im in tears feeling like my world has crumbled - i see my daughter struggle everyday and it compounds my feelings, is this normal????
5 Replies 5

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Mama-bear~

Of course it is normal. The fact the abuse ended and the offender been before the court is just part of it all. The aftermath is horrible - for both your daughter and you.

I'd like to say first that no matter how trivial the sentence the fact there was a guilty verdict is a huge win. One of the horrible side effects of abuse is self doubt and lack of self worth, so being believed becomes very important - essential in fact. The court believed your daughter. A milestone.

I'm very glad your daughter has found competent professional help, it is not all she needs but is essential anyway. Your daughter needs to be in charge of her life, make her decisions, and while you can support and help this is important too. Can I suggest you get in touch with 1800Respect who are used to these situations and can give advice. I'm sure her thoughts and feelings will not be straightforward.