FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

PTSD Depression and no support from my employer

pippi9699
Community Member

Hi,

This is my first time posting and I’m hoping that someone can give me advice. I was a victim of an aggravated burglary in my own home and as a result I not only suffered physical but also mental injuries. I suffer from severe PTSD, depression and anxiety and my employer is not at all helpful. Prior to the incident I was working in a processing centre but due to mu injuries I requested a transfer to an office closer to home and I was granted a temp transfer. To get the transfer I had to prove to the executive managers that I was suffering a mental health injury first by attending an appointment with 2 IME’s. I ended up having to take a month off work after suffering a breakdown due to what I perceived as bullying from the execs.
The transfer was successful and I found myself working with a lot more supportive staff including the manager but it had its downside as well as there was customer aggression on a weekly basis and I often had triggers from the same type of people I was threaten by in my own home but I was doing well. We had even discussed my staying there on a permanent basis which overall I was happy with. Then a few weeks ago my PTSD and depression spiraled out of control and I had to take another month off work to get myself in a better place.