FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

PTSD after being sexually abused on drugs

emily96
Community Member

I'm really new to this but really appreciate that there is a place to go to talk to people when I don't want to talk to a therapist or my family about what has happened to me.

Last year I was living in Scotland on exchange. Being a normal college student, I was really into the party scene - drinking, drugs.

I met a guy that was living in the flat below mine and we started chatting one night during a Flat party. He invited me to his room to smoke some weed, which I agreed to. I thought that we were nothing more than friends.

I had way too much weed, and felt instantly sick and like I could pass out. I was a zombie. He recommended I sleep it off in his bed which I stupidly agreed too. A little while later, I woke up to him on top of me. I couldn't fight him because I was still so limp from the drugs.

I ran away from his flat when he went to the bathroom and had to face him a lot since he lived below me. I remember that at the time I didn't think it was sexual abuse because I had taken the drugs, and I had put myself in that situation, and because he acted so normal with me every time I passed him in our building. I didn't tell any friends, or family at all because I was so ashamed of myself - I should have known better.

A year on, there hasn't been a day that I haven't thought about it. I've never had any anxiety over it until recently. I've started becoming afraid to have sex, and I've had a couple of anxiety attacks when sex has been initiated with my boyfriend. It's like I'm in a dreamlike state when I look at him sometimes because he seems so foreign to me, and I start to get really terrified of him.