FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I’m completely lost.

Cjjj
Community Member

Hey.
I do apologise if this has been posted in the wrong area, I’m new to this and pretty nervous about it.

five years ago today my best friend committed suicide and I was the first person too find him.
I was 21, working in the mining industry and had never experienced anything like that before in my life.
the thought of any one taking their own life was just unheard of so it was extremely shocking too find him the way I did.
I had too call emergency services, I had too call him Mum and explain.

ever since then I’ve been completely lost. I ruined my career, jumping between jobs at various mine sites and basically burning every bridge I had.

I lost my relationship, I pushed good friends away and I completely lost who I am as a person.
every bit of interest in anything I had has been lost.

I’m coming here today because I want advice. I want the nightmares too stop, I want too have a normal life, I want the thoughts of what happened too stop because they completely ruin my day.
I’ve been too a doctor who’s recommended me too a phycologist, I’ve been in contact with a drug and alcohol counciller because I was drinking too forget. I’ve been sober for a week now.

I apologise too anyone I may have triggered or upset.

any Help, tips or tricks would be really appreciated.

3 Replies 3

Sophie_M
Hi Cjjj,

Thank you for sharing such a brave and open post here. We’re sorry to hear you’re feeling lost. It sounds like you’re dealing with a lot, and we can imagine how incredibly hard that would be but we’re glad you were able to open up to this community.