FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I'm a newbie here.

MissMonty
Community Member
Hi everyone. I'm new to the site and am hoping I will find some support here. Recently my husband and I were made aware that our 12 year old daughter had been sexually assaulted by her older cousin. The abuse has been happening for two years, slowly getting more invasive and dominant. We have all been in intense therapy since which has been good however I am struggling so much. It's my husband's side of the family and it has caused an enormous fracture. Of course, we have been pushed out for speaking up. I feel as though I'm having a breakdown. I'm already medicated for anxiety. I just don't kniw how to handle my feelings.
4 Replies 4

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, welcome

Sorry to hear this.

You must feel enormous pressure. That family fracture is unfortunate but unavoidable so time to close ranks and focus on your immediate family under your roof.

I'd personally stay away from hubbys family for some time but allow him free rein to visit them. See what transpires.

Visit your GP regularly and keep well connected with your partner. Both of you would feel you failed as parents so you need each other.

TonyWK

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi MissMonty, can I offer you a warm welcome to the forums.

What you have told is very disturbing to hear and it must be enormous pressure on all of you, so I want to suggest a couple of ideas for your consideration to think over.

When I started counselling I had sessions with my wife and then with my 2 sons, but it partially restricted what was said, my sons didn't want to upset me and I for them, so perhaps the therapy could be done separately, however as your daughter is 12 years old she may want you to be there for support.