FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

How can you get out of a Domestic abuse situation?

wakewoke
Community Member

Hello, Im new to to this forum and I wish to ask for advice.

Im 21 year old male who still lives with his parents due to mental issues, but I hate it here now, my parents insult me, we get into fights everyday over my issues, I act like a jerk and say terrible things, they do as well.

But how do I get out? i dont have a car, i have a few grand from a pension but i want to to do things with my life and rent is expensive and i have no life skills and ive never had a job and i dont know what to do.

12 Replies 12

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi WW, welcome

I'm sorry for your situation, no wonder you are seeking ideas on how to cope.

At the ending of my marriage in 1996, I purchased the cheapest caravan money could but at the time, it was 3.5 metres long. I towed it to a caravan park and stayed there for a while.

Do you have a drivers licence?

If so, perhaps look around for a campervan, obviously an older model, a Toyota Hi-ace, Mitsubishi express and so on. Sadly I don't think you'll be able to purchase a decent one with roadworthy for under $7000. If you could then you would need an address for Centrelink to continue to contact you. Ask your parent if they can still use their address for such mail and drop in once a week or two. Keep up that contact even though you argue, it will become less over time. Purchase Wikicamps app for $8. That will give you all the camping locations Australia wide as well as dump points for your portable porta potti, fresh water and if its free or a cost involved. The more remote you stay at the better it gets.