FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Family Issues (Emotional Abuse, Sexual Harassment) Reaching Breaking Point

MiaL
Community Member

Hi. This is my first post but I need to get this off my chest. I am a university student. I am set to graduate mid next year. I can not afford to move out until then. (I do have a job but it is only part-time). Lets get started.

- 3 years ago my step father made several sexual advances and comments towards me. He also purchased various sexual items and inappropriately asked me to use them and tell him how I used them, etc. I only told my mother about this three days ago. It elicited a mixed response, with her mostly being upset I didn't tell her earlier. I felt helpless, I could not tell anyone because I knew he would hurt me. Today, he told me to 'stop being the victim' and get over it.
- My step father has (mostly) emotionally and (on a few occasions) physically abused my mother for as long as I can remember. (He moved in with us when I was 4). He yells at her in public, at home, and uses obscenities every time, absolutely deteriorating her self-worth and mental health beyond what little there was left from her troubled childhood. He controls her finances and she has no friends.