FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Dealing with PTSD at night time

quokka
Community Member

Hi all,

I’m relatively new here and this is my first time making my own thread! I was wondering if anyone has any tips on dealing with PTSD specifically at night time when trying to fall asleep?

For some background info, I was sexually assaulted almost 2 years ago, at 18, by a stranger while travelling solo and I denied it for a long time because I felt so shameful and most of all I did not want to accept it had happened. I started dealing with it a couple months ago as I was having really bad panic attacks and nightmares which were significantly interrupting my daily life, so I started going to a psychologist again. This is on top of already having depression and anxiety which I have had for almost six years.

My main difficulty recently has been dealing with PTSD at night time. Even if I have had a relatively good day without any triggers, I still seem to go to bed at night and everything comes rushing back in. I can’t help but think about all the bad memories and shameful feelings about myself and I just end up feeling so anxious and depressed that I can’t sleep. I am also hesitant to fall asleep as I worry about having nightmares about the assault. I would really appreciate if anyone has any advice to deal with this?

5 Replies 5

sister_moon
Community Member

Hi Quokka,

Welcome to the forum.

Ahhh Night times! I am sorry to hear you are experiencing this.

They can be so hard with PTSD and anxiety. One thing I sometimes do when I can't seen to calm my thoughts myself is call a help line. Beyond blue has one as well as life line and also 1800respect are really good for the sexual assult related PTSD they might also have some good tips or resources to deal with night times.