FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Move on or stay?

ayylmao
Community Member
Hey everyone. I would like some opinions on what whether I should move on with life or stay with my culture. So I have been living in Australia for a good few years. The culture is different here, the accent the slang etc. Etc. It was only at the start of this year, that i have really started to appreciate the culture here, the opportunity here and just how people do things here. Thinking back a few years ago, I always felt left out and disadvantaged because of language barriers and culture barriers. Its hard for me to get a good job, keep friends etc. I thought that it was cuz of my skin color, my name, accent etc. I don't what it is. Im starting to think that my background is whats holding me back in life. I don't know anymore.
2 Replies 2

Peppermintbach
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi ayylmao,

Good on your for posting here and I hope it’s okay for me to extend a very warm welcome to you here 🙂

It sounds like you have been through a lot since moving to Australia. It must have been quite the change/adjustment, and that you understandably faced a number of challenges. I think moving to another country, especially if it is culturally very different to what you are used to can be quite an emotional process...

I’m the daughter of migrants, and I have witnessed the struggles (as well as the triumphs) that my parents and extended family have faced as they tried to find their place in Australia. There’s a lot to process, get used to, understand and learn, especially when most of them spoke very limited English when they first arrived.