FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Starting university terror

Unigurl18
Community Member

Hi, 

I’m new to this, and I’ve never done something like this before, but I need to talk about this. 
I am starting university in 6 days and the terror of it is just getting bigger. I talked to my mum about it and I felt a little better about how scared I am about starting uni but I woke up today and felt the same. 
I just have a continual sense of impending doom about starting uni and I might be being silly, but no matter what I do I’m still really frightened. 
I must admit that I’ve been struggling with feelings of emptiness for a while which has gotten a bit better a little while ago but it got worse again the closer I get to starting university. 
I don’t know if anyone feels the same or understands what I’m feeling, or maybe I’m just overreacting, but I just wanted to put it out there. 
thanks 

3 Replies 3

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Unigurl18~

Welcome here to to Forum, its a good place to come to help you realize you are not alone.  The prospect of uni can be terrifying, partly becuse it is a new way of learning, partly becuse you do not know how well you will cope, and partly it's the same as any radical new venture -it can be pretty daunting.

I taught 1st semester 1st years a lot at uni and they were a mix. There were some that just went becuse htere parents made them - and they did not last. They had no interest and felt resentful. They soon drifted away. There were a few who were super-keen with tons of brains and application, they did exceedingly well of course.