FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I spent my whole life pretending that everything is fine when it wasn't (sexual abuse)

Ghost_76
Community Member
I'm new to this. Just needed to talk to someone... anyone... need to know I'm not crazy
187 Replies 187

Ghost_76
Community Member
Have you ever had that feeling... That feeling that you're just existing and not actually living?? That feeling that you're living in a dream, not really part of your life at all? Like you're a stranger living with people that you know is your family, but you feel so disconnected from everything and everyone?

Do you ever question who you are? Who you might have been if someone didn't steal your innocence and childhood?

It doesn't seem to matter how often I wash myself. I can't get rid of the feeling of being dirty. The shame and guilt never goes away. The questions are constant in my head... what if?? Was it something I said or did that made them think it's okay to do the things they did?? Is it something about me??

I feel lost. I feel like I'm just fading away and sometimes I wish I could.

It feels like I have no right to be here. I'm putting my family through hell and I swear, it's not intentional. But they suffer, because of what I'm going through. It doesn't seem fair. They never did anything wrong.

I'm exhausted. Not just from lack of sleep, but just so incredibly tired and overwhelmed. So tired of nightmares and body memories.

Sorry... my head is so full and so loud and it feels like it's going to explode.

Ghost