FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Need to get some burdens off my chest

Thermo
Community Member

Hi to anyone who reads this. This is my first time using any support websites, so I’m a little unsure of what I should do. I just don’t feel like I have any other options at this point. It’s been about a year and a half since I got out of a toxic relationship, I was essentially blackmailed into it. Long story short I’ve not had much experience with women or relationships, so I was taken completely by surprise when someone from my friend group confessed a romantic interest in me, though it wasn’t mutual, after trying to let them down gently they began to threaten to harm themselves. After talking to someone who I used to believe was my best friend about it they said it was my fault for not accepting. I felt I had no choice and agreed to try going out with her. In the end I spent over half a year of them insulting me or ignoring me after falsely claiming I had been disloyal, then threatening to end their own life “because of me” I didn’t know what to do. I’m still relatively young and inexperienced so I was terrified by the idea that I could be held responsible for someone’s life and death. I now realise this was not the case and what I was lead to believe. Ultimately I broke up with them after spending months to build up the courage. Since we were in the same friend group I was gradually phased out, after she claimed I had dumped them for no reason. Most of the people in our group knew how she treated me and threatened me but still ignored me and insulted me until I decided it would be better to be left alone. To this day I’ve never had the chance to tell my side of the story, because I know it’s a small town and my few friends I’ve made in the past couple of years might feel pressured to choose sides, and I don’t want