FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Kind of scary

Antelope9
Community Member

So after many years of struggling with depression, I have found some sort of respite in a mental health team that over 2 years have given me some sort of explanation for the strange highs and lows of my life. I’m glad they took the time for me. As a Psychology graduate, I insisted on a thought out diagnosis from at least 2 sources.

Bipolar type 2 (no surprise)

Borderline Personality Disorder.

Amongst my peers and family dynamics, who have always described me as ‘resilient’, It has come to a point recently that I could not deny that I cannot cope.
I could not front up and keep being the person who has generally, helped everybody else. So when I needed help, the resources where exhausted.

I have joined this forum, as suggested by a patient team of said professionals, in the hope that I can find some people who understand what it means to be exhausted. How it feels to feel so absolutely alone, and sometimes really afraid. That sometimes you can have a veneer of strength and yet be on the verge of suicide.
And when you tell someone, it does not make sense.

7 Replies 7

tranzcrybe
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi Antelope9

I spotted your comments on a related post and thought I'd check in to let you know you have been heard. Forums are a great place to find support from like minded individuals (as you have done yourself) and I hope you find many thoughts and ideas to give you some perspective on what you have already assessed.

Sorry to hear of your trials, and I noted your comments in relation to the bearing your parents had in your present state of mind. I'd be happy to hear your views (I have parents too!) and discuss issues as they arise.