FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

helping out my boyfriend with depression

jennyleeeeee
Community Member
I’m not quite sure what to do. I don’t know if it’s depression but lately he’s been silent for whole days and when he does say something it’s very limited. I asked him if he was okay if it’s to maybe do with stress from university or whatnot. I asked him and he told me that he doesn’t think he is okay... I’m not sure how to support him 😞 I have no experience with having or dealing with mental health disorders but i want to help my boyfriend out but i don’t know what I should do
2 Replies 2

blondguy
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Jennyleeeeee

Welcome to the forums and good on you for having the courage to post too!

You are a very caring person doing what you can to help your boyfriend..By asking if he is okay shows how proactive you are! There is only so much you can do with a partner with possible depression Jennyleeeeee

I used to have chronic anxiety followed by depression for a long time. Just as per my own experience..If your boyfriend's symptoms start to have a negative impact on his ability to function effectively on a daily basis his GP is an excellent start. Its really up to your BF to seek help..especially as he has mentioned that he doesnt think he is okay

I have the official Beyond Blue link below regarding caring for a person that may or may not have depression

https://www.beyondblue.org.au/the-facts/supporting-someone/supporting-someone-with-depression-or-anx...

You did mention a good point about Uni....this can also be a very difficult time for your boyfriend

Can I ask if he has mentioned any symptoms of anxiety/depression?

we are here and listening

my kind thoughts...Paul

UDumbA22
Community Member
Hi jenny