FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Cost of living

charred
Community Member
I suffer from depression, but over the years have managed it somewhat okay.
I have an ex wife, you took my young son and moved 1000km away, that really affected me.
I've always worked, earning a modest income. I have no debts, and some savings in the bank.
I've been renting a very cheap rental alone for the last 5 years which has been great.
But I've been told I need to vacate in 2 months, and thats where my problems start.

Currently working in the building industry as a subcontractor, working alongside a school friend, after our boss suddenly passed away at xmas ( as well as my grandma, and my dog).
I live in a country town, and the rental crisis is in full swing. Not only is there a serious lack of rentals, but prices are sky high.
Add to that, the rising cost of fuel, food, electricity.
Luckily, my sister owns a house in the town, which she is going to rent to me, so I dont end up homeless.
Its one of the cheaper in the area too. Basically, lets say I earn roughly $1000 per week, before tax. Due to weather and material outages, some weeks may be less. The rental is $370 per week, which is almost double what I pay now. I just ran the numbers through the money smart budget, and things look very bad.
After entering in rent, electricity, gas, fuel, food ($80 a week), phone, rego, childcare payments.....basically everything....im going to be lucky to break even, if not going backwards each week. Thats with zero spending money, zero emergency money, zero saving money, zero alcohol money, zero car maintenance or repair money, zero extra fuel money. I literally savaged my budget until there was nothing more to scrimp on.