FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Beyond Blue Home Improvement Thread

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
Hi everyone. I'm Geoff and have been a dedicated Volunteer on the forums for 13 years. I am proud to have stopped some of the stigmas that are associated with mental health as well as doing my best to help others too

Before my health went south I was a builder in all aspects of home construction and renovation. If you don't have a handyman around I hope I can offer you some tips that may be of help. I have had many years of experience in home renovation and will do my best to help you out if you are stuck and need some advice

I hope my experience may be of help to the people on Beyond Blue and make their life a little bit better. Even if you need help with the most basic painting job or putting up a shelf I can help there too with some tips

I will do my best to get back to anyone that has a question when I can as this is social yet important thread

Geoff
1,301 Replies 1,301

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
Hi Paul, back for seconds.

You could hire a pressured water gun from your paint store, but if you have any wood that has rotten away then this equipment may dig away all the bad timber and that's another question if you would like to be answered.

If I was painting these window frames I wouldn't necessarily want to remove the old paint that is still there, all I would do is sand where the old paint meets the bare timber just to make it even, that's all you need to do, a smooth surface.

The old paint would be oil based, that is paint that you need turps to clean brushes, so make the surface of the old paint rough, not too rough so the new paint can stick to it.