FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Beyond Blue Home Improvement Thread

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
Hi everyone. I'm Geoff and have been a dedicated Volunteer on the forums for 13 years. I am proud to have stopped some of the stigmas that are associated with mental health as well as doing my best to help others too

Before my health went south I was a builder in all aspects of home construction and renovation. If you don't have a handyman around I hope I can offer you some tips that may be of help. I have had many years of experience in home renovation and will do my best to help you out if you are stuck and need some advice

I hope my experience may be of help to the people on Beyond Blue and make their life a little bit better. Even if you need help with the most basic painting job or putting up a shelf I can help there too with some tips

I will do my best to get back to anyone that has a question when I can as this is social yet important thread

Geoff
1,301 Replies 1,301

A2D2
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member
Hi Geoff, Just wanted to say you are a wonder for doing this. No questions just heaps of praise.Cath

blondguy
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi A2D2........You are spot on with your heartfelt post above about Geoff......Nice1

Paul

hi Elizabeth, I'm back, you can buy mortar mix from a large retailer, it comes in already mixed up bags so all you have to do is add the water, on the ground or in a wheelbarrow, otherwise if you want to you can mix it yourself using 1 part cement, 1 part lime and 6 parts sand.

Nobody going to really notice what the wall looks like when it is finished and painted, only you.

Do you have an angle grinder or electric hand saw if so attach a masonry blade to it and then cut out the mortar to free or loosen the half brick so that you can pull it out.