FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Beyond Blue Home Improvement Thread

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
Hi everyone. I'm Geoff and have been a dedicated Volunteer on the forums for 13 years. I am proud to have stopped some of the stigmas that are associated with mental health as well as doing my best to help others too

Before my health went south I was a builder in all aspects of home construction and renovation. If you don't have a handyman around I hope I can offer you some tips that may be of help. I have had many years of experience in home renovation and will do my best to help you out if you are stuck and need some advice

I hope my experience may be of help to the people on Beyond Blue and make their life a little bit better. Even if you need help with the most basic painting job or putting up a shelf I can help there too with some tips

I will do my best to get back to anyone that has a question when I can as this is social yet important thread

Geoff
1,301 Replies 1,301

topsy_
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Geoff

I have a quick question. One of my doors isn’t latching properly each time. My hubby screwed a screw back in tighter but I think it only works it’s way loose again. I’m not really sure if it’s the handle bit or the bit on the door frame that’s wonky. I think I read somewhere years ago that I could hammer a match into the loose hole then screw the screw in again & it would be tighter. Would that work?

Just for your interest my hubby is/was a carpenter so that explains why nothing gets fixed here lol. He hammers screws in - can you believe??!!

No rush to reply Geoff. Thanks in advance, Lyn.

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni