FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Beyond Blue Home Improvement Thread

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
Hi everyone. I'm Geoff and have been a dedicated Volunteer on the forums for 13 years. I am proud to have stopped some of the stigmas that are associated with mental health as well as doing my best to help others too

Before my health went south I was a builder in all aspects of home construction and renovation. If you don't have a handyman around I hope I can offer you some tips that may be of help. I have had many years of experience in home renovation and will do my best to help you out if you are stuck and need some advice

I hope my experience may be of help to the people on Beyond Blue and make their life a little bit better. Even if you need help with the most basic painting job or putting up a shelf I can help there too with some tips

I will do my best to get back to anyone that has a question when I can as this is social yet important thread

Geoff
1,301 Replies 1,301

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
hi Mathy, never use W4 to lubricate any lock, the reason why is because it's a liquid, so dust will stick to the lock, then cloak it up, only use graphite powder.
You can buy a small amount, it's cheap but it will also cover your hands when you use it, but wash off.
Rubber shovel, it's a classic isn't.
Great point Mathy about mentioning the 'mesh' it absolutely works, I've used it before, another way is to get a piece of (gyprock) plasterboard, you can pick some up from a building site will give you some FREE.
Next I'll tell you another way, and what I say makes it seem as though it will a long time, but no it won't, my description maybe long but when you get used to doing it this way, it takes only a couple of minutes.